Prague’s Countryland

Standard

So to start off with, I’m currently sitting in a new favourite cafe of mine. Bohemia Bagel, is the name it goes by. They have great food, including a smallish American menu. I look forward to coming here one morning and ordering blueberry pancakes. I’ll make it a birthday thing, since it’s tradition. Yay for continuing the blueberries in the pancakes!

 

OK. Now to the meat of the message. These picture to the left are from my week in the Czech mountains. A  friend of mine had a church retreat, and she invited me to join her. In fact, while I’m at this cafe, I await the start of church so I can worship God in ways I never thought of. For starters, most of the songs were in Czech, so I didn’t know how to sing (which is my usual way to worship). A woman was dancing in  the front, waving flags of beautiful colors, and lifting her head to the Lord. I asked to join her. She was

  more than willing to allow me the joy of praising God in the dance. This is something that I’m not used to, but I found it even more peaceful than worshiping with my voice. I wasn’t worried about hitting the notes or not knowing the words. I wasn’t concerned about how I looked. It was miraculous! I worshiped God in Czech without even saying a word.

God spoke directly to me through various people on the final night. So, I can finally answer many questions that I’ve not only been asking myself, but that others have asked me as well.

1) Is this God’s will for you? [yes, it is.]

2) Why Prague? [I don’t know. I do know that God wants me here for these few months, and especially this summer. I’ll need all the prayer I can get, especially on the basis of language.]

3) Are you sure about acting? [Yes. Yes. Yes. I’m going to be a missionary, and acting will play its part.]

If you ever come to Prague, one of the best ways to enjoy the true traditions is to find a family–preferably one who has been doing it for years–and enjoy a full day of mushrooming! I was just walking along the road, and one of the families from the church pulled over in their car and asked me if I wanted to join them. “Sure!” I said with a big smile. “I’ve never done that before!” And thus began a day of really seeing what Czechs do for fun when camping. It was exhilarating! I was able to enjoy a full day of learning about different types of mushrooms — yummy ones, poisonous ones, bitter ones, and so forth.

I’ve made many new friends here. The language is still a challenge, but it’s one that I will accept, as long as it means that I get to stay here with my new family. Thank you for you prayers and support!

((On a side note: During this week, a few of us took a day to visit a castle. On the drive, with the windows down, I smelled something familiar. After rolling down the window, I stuck my head out, sucked in a big gulp of air, and got excited. The girl next to me was staring quizzically at me, so I explained, “Cornfield and manuer! It’s just like Ohio!” Ahh, what a great moment of laughter that was.))

About TheStoryteller

I am not a tourist. I do not travel to see the sites or experience the traps. I do not spend money for souvenirs. I do not wear sunscreen, socks with sandals, Bermuda shorts, Hawaiian shirts, binoculars, a camera, a visor, or a fanny pack. I am the anti-tourist. I travel for culture and growth. I eat the food of the country, no matter how strange or foreign. I embrace the traditions, study the history, and love on those who welcome me with open arms. Even the ones who don't. This is the blog that follows my travels from Bosnia na Herzegovina to the Czech Republic to South Korea and beyond. Maybe you'll learn a few tips along the way. Maybe not. Whatever the reason you are here… It's nice to meet you!

Leave a Reply

